Vogue 8881

Well, I have now made this pattern 4 times and with each remake I’ve done something different mostly just changed the lengths. The first try it was just too small. I bought a medium thinking I’d make the other view but de decided to try this one first. I’d realized then that I should have bought the larger pattern. My first attempt :I

DSC02194 DSC02191

DSC02184

It’s too short but I knew I had to try again. I was disappointed because I loved the fabric but I didn’t have enough of it. :(

Second Attempt:

DSC02196 DSC02197

I got the fit right but not quite loving the fabric. My third attempt had the length all wrong. I decided to make the tunic length but it was too short in the front and long in the back.

20130707-102619.jpg

20130707-102632.jpg

My latest attempt #4:

Inspired by Toy of Life Happens Be Positive which is a fabulous blog with LOTS of inspiration. This dress is almost identical to the V8881 . All I had to do was lengthen it and round the bottom corners of the front pattern piece.

Inspiration:

AAG6X075_F59

20130707-100952.jpg

IMG_0588[1]

20130622-211349.jpg

Here is my review:

20130707-095423.jpg

Pattern Description: Pullover top has shaped hemline and narrow hem. A, B and C: loose-fitting, bias right side. D, E and F: close-fitting.

Pattern Sizing: Medium with Alterations including FBA

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes but longer. I made view F with short sleeves

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I bought the pattern for the other version but thought I’d give this a try because of the high low hem.

Fabric Used: Cotton Jersey bought a while ago

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I lengthened the tunic by 12 inches and made the sleeves more of a cap with a 2 inch inseam. I also rounded the bottom of the front corners to make it similar to the inspiration piece.

20130707-095851.jpg

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I love it and have a second version almost complete just have to hem. See Below. I’ve also cut out a straight t-shirt dress no high low hem.

Conclusion: This is a great dress and in season. It turns out a great basic pattern for me.

20130707-102542.jpg

20130707-102559.jpg

20130707-102609.jpg

7 Comments

  1. Posted July 7, 2013 at 9:53 AM | Permalink | Reply

    I love the solid colored longer dress on you! It looks fantastic! Your hair looks very pretty too…I would love to see the black/white print one on you. I bet it looks fabulous also!

  2. Shelly
    Posted July 7, 2013 at 12:41 PM | Permalink | Reply

    I love your high-low dresses! I follow your blog because we have similar body types and I love the things you sew. I would never imagine this would be flattering on me, but now you’ve inspired me!

  3. Posted July 8, 2013 at 12:10 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Now that’s what I call perfecting a pattern. You also utilized it to its fullest and look fantastic in it.

  4. Cwell creates
    Posted July 8, 2013 at 2:38 AM | Permalink | Reply

    The 3rd time is the charm. I love the hi-lo dress version. Very flattering on you.

  5. Posted July 8, 2013 at 2:54 AM | Permalink | Reply

    That’s a hi-lo hem that really works. Such an elegant style, looks great on you!

  6. Posted July 12, 2013 at 5:20 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Fabulous! I love this twist on the maxi dress. Very glam.

  7. adrienne
    Posted July 23, 2013 at 1:10 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Love all your versions!

I love to hear Feedback!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

