VOGUE 8946

I knew when these patterns were released I’d sew this one first! I love the design and thought I needed to do this in a solid fabric.

Here is My Review:

Pattern Description: Close-fitting, partially lined dress has front seam/dart detail, pleats, narrow hem and back zipper. C: back slit.

Pattern Sizing: I made this pattern a size larger because I wasn’t sure how it would fit with the two-way stretch and wanted some room for adjustment but it was WAY too big.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?  Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.  Once you get the pleating in (which wasn’t difficult) it was a sheath dress.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the pleating in the front.

Fabric Used:  This is some mystery fabric I had in my stash.  I believe it’s polyester with a little stretch (two way stretch)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  This dress was really big,  I should have gone down two sizes.  I had to take the sleeves off and adjust because the armhole was falling over like it was a dropped shoulder.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  I will be sewing version A (sleeveless) in the spring.

Conclusion:  Once the adjustments were made it really is a great dress!!

Also, Sorry my facial expressions look so awful, I was concentrating on how to work my camera!! And it was sooooo cold!! LOL!

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

DSC02282

???????????????????????????????

DSC02284

DSC02285

DSC02286

DSC02313

I also did another video review :

5 Comments

  1. Posted November 26, 2013 at 3:25 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Lovely dress! You picked a great color and style! That is a great pattern. I have a feeling it will be a popular one. Thanks for your review!

  2. Posted November 30, 2013 at 4:17 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Luv it!!

  3. Posted December 3, 2013 at 6:00 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Love this dress! The shape and the gathers are so flattering. It’s a perfect look for Fall with the boots.

  4. Posted December 29, 2013 at 8:18 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for picking up the fabric for me! My email is t r e n a dot b at g m a i l (no spaces, replace the dot with the appropriate punctuation). I think you work downtown, right? I can easily pick it up from you there.

  5. Posted January 8, 2014 at 9:46 AM | Permalink | Reply

    I also made this one and I love it, you look good DD!

I love to hear Feedback!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

