I’m Back!!!

Sorry I have been busy, busy, busy!! I have been working on budgets and staying late into the night at my day job to finish. I was too exhausted to sew much of anything and before I knew it, I needed to finish a dress for my daughter’s 8th grade formal dance. Then we had some drama with that. My little girl picked out a dress she loved and after I got the muslin just right she says Mom! This doesnt have any sleeves!! like she didnt pick out the dress. So back to the drawing board I went. She picked another dress that she again loves!! but this one is strapless. I said honey your shoulders are out again. She said oh I can wear a jacket with this one. She tried this one on in the store (the other was she picked off of the internet) and I think the dress is cute but I thought it was too grown. It is a strapless mini. I told her no way was she wearing that even with a jacket. Soo we went to the fabric store and guess what she picked out of the patterns. The same dress, I told her ok. I will make it longer and she can still wear a jacket. I am still working on it and it has to be done by Friday!!! May 15. I have completed the bust portion and midriff. I will be attaching the skirt which is the puffy one and thank god I dont have to hem. I will attach the skirt and zipper tonight. She chose a burgundy satin with a black lace overlay for the midriff and bow. It actually looks pretty good. I wasnt sure about her color choices. (shows what I know) Tomorrow I am going to look for an inexpensive jacket (wont have time to make that) and shoes. The dress is McCalls 5850.

M5850 The gold one
M5850 The gold one

I have been working on a couple of things which I have put on hold until Friday:::
V1027 DKNY
V1027 DKNY
V1027
V1027

This dress was coming along fine but I think I cut the wrong size it is way too big in the bust area which wouldnt be too bad I could just adjust the side seams but this has pleats in the wrapped portion so I have to RIP seams which of course I dont want to do which is why this is still unfinished. I have made a promise to myself to finish this along with two other projects this weekend. I actually love the red which is unusual for me. I tend to stick with Brown, Black, and Navy. I decided this year I will add color to my wardrobe.

OOP Butterick 6502 Rimini
OOP Butterick 6502 Rimini

OOP
OOP

I have loved this pattern for a long time. The high neck did not work for me and was a little uncomfortable and I saw this round opening on another site (Burdastyle) and thought it would work well for this top. I then had to come up with a pattern to cut the top out with. I actually had a top with a big circle cut out of the neckline, took some paper and copied it. It worked well!! I now have to finish the hem of the sleeves, top, and skirt. Then I need to purchase a belt to go with it. But I love it. I am not sure what the material is. I bought it at Hancocks about a month ago for about $4 a yard. It looks woven but has alot of stretch to it.

Vogue 8576 Sandra Betzina
Vogue 8576 Sandra Betzina

I loved this pattern the moment I saw it. I couldnt resist doing it in the same color as on the pattern when I saw this linen mix at Joann’s. It was on sale and I got it for $4 a yard. The dress is coming along nicely but there is alot of peicing. I also had to lengthen the bodice 6 inches in the front and 4 in the back. Which is tedious because there are alot of peices. Then you have to true them to the shape. I did two muslins to make sure it was ok before I cut into my fabric. I dont know if you can tell from the picture but I have attached the bottom to the top but not the sides. I wanted to make sure my seams all lined up cause it will show if it does not. Also there is alot of topstitching which I think I didnt do too bad with. All and all I cant wait to wear it. I will post pictures of all of my projects with me wearing them soon!!. Hopefully I have a productive weekend and can post them one day next week.

Oh two more things. (I know it is a long post forgive me I havent been on here in a while!!!)
1. I will be redoing the pants for the pant sewalong but in linen. Vogue 1040

V1040
V1040
I havent touched the twill ones not even to put on the waist band. They really arent that bad I just cant yet. I have read about 25 different Threads articles and there is alot of info on pants in them. I am determined to make a decent pair this year. LOL!!!

2. I finished this work shirt for my hubbie. He actually loves it!! So much so he has asked me to do one in denim because it will be too warm for the duckcloth one soon. It wasnt difficult I just want to finish my stuff first!!! I know selfish sewer but hey I gotta have something right. Anyhow here are the pictures.

S5366 On Hubby
S5366 On Hubby
S5366
S5366
S5366 Pockets
S5366 Pockets

4 thoughts on “I’m Back!!!

    1. DeDe says:

      Thanks. With the OOP pattern I actually started it years ago in another fabric that really didnt work. I somehow misplaced (lost) the front pattern piece. So I cut the other top open and used it as a pattern piece. The only problem was I didnt realize I lengthened the fabric peices but not the pattern. So in the end I had to cut the longer front to match the shorter back. I would have liked the top about 3 inches longer. I am going to use hem tape to keep as much length as possible. Thanks Again. This is a little long.

  1. Gwen says:

    Cute dress pattern–love the bubble skirt. Your red dress is stunning. It’s going to look great on you. Hubby’s shirt is very nice. Great work!

  2. DeDe says:

    Thanks. I have to put the zipper in dd dress and add the bow. I will post a finished picture tomorrow. My dd loves it.

I love to hear Feedback!!

