DRESSES, DRESSES, DRESSES : V8379 & NL6802 & M5989

NL6802 On the Dress Form

NL6802

I have actually been rather busy this past week. I managed to complete two dresses before the weekend. The first dress was which I had cut sometime last year. Does anyone else cut and cut? I seem to do a lot of cutting but not alot of actually sewing. LOL. Here is the review:

Pattern Description: Misses’ Knit Dresses

Pattern Sizing: 4-20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very Easy!!!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Love the twist!
Fabric Used: I bought this knit at Joanne’s about a year ago.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I extended the twist portion of the pattern about an inch to accommodate my full bust. I also have to go back and add some elastic binding to the V opening as the fabric is pretty thin which works for the twist but I think it would improve the lift of the V. I also wasnt sure about the pattern sleeves and left them as is but still have to roll the hem on the sleeves and bottom but I wore it anyway!!!LOL!!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I probably will not sew again cause I have way too many others I want to make.
Conclusion: I noticed that others commented on it causing a maternity look. I had to adjust the cut to just beneath my bust and lessen the gathering there as well.

NL6802

Next was V8379:

Pattern Description: Wrap front dress has soft pleats, side tie, and sleeve variations. Dress B has collar.

Pattern Sizing: 16-18-20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very Easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I am a sucker for any wrap pattern and once I saw all the great reveiws had to make this one!
.

Fabric Used: I bought this knit at Hancock’s and originally planned to make it with the black and red version but once I tried to cut it out found I didnt have enough fabric and of course they were out of the color I wanted so I bought the black and purple.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I combined the two versions, basically I took the long sleeve version and made it short sleeves with the tabs or cuffs and added the collar.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will definitely make the long sleever version and highly recommend it but I am probably one of the last people to make it. LOL!!

Conclusion: Love it and cant believe how easy it was to make.
FYI: I am squinting cause the sun was shining right in my eyes.

V8379
V8379

Lastly, my daughter asked me to make her a Maxi dress. Originally I was using Burda 8043 which is a top but she wanted a very simple design. Spaghetti straps, with no crossover in the bust area. This pattern was way to revealing for me as I found out on Wednesday evening and she was going away on Friday morning. I searched through my patterns Thursday evening for the hundredth time and realized what she described was McCalls 5989. So I cut it out Thursday evening but had to see the Grey’s Anatomy season finally (cable isnt installed in my basement yet it’s still under construction) so I got up 5am friday and put this together. It was waaaay too stressfull. The stitching is awful but I had to either finish or stop and go to work.

McCalls 5989

Pattern Description:
Pattern Sizing: 4-6-8-10-12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very Easy

Fabric Used: All bought at Joann’s a couple of weeks ago. Yellow and grey both are cotton knit and the other is somekind of rayon chiffon.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I lengthened it to make it a maxi and added the grey tie.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I do recommend it. I will probably make some of the PJ’s now. LOL

Conclusion: Quick and Easy. The opening was still too much so I made her put on the black Cami underneath.

She actually loved it although you cant tell from the picture. She had just gotten home from her trip and I made her come downstairs and take a picture!! LOL!

M5989

I actually didnt get any sewing done this weekend. I focused mostly on organizing the room and found waaaaay too many unfinished objects!!! I am going to focus on completing some of those, although I have a bunch of stuff cut!!!

3 thoughts on “DRESSES, DRESSES, DRESSES : V8379 & NL6802 & M5989

I love to hear Feedback!!

