UPDATE

New Tables and Stool

I havent blogged in a while but I have been sewing!!! First I wanted to share these two tables I bought from Ikea for my room. Originally I was going there to get a bookcase. I ended up buying that plus two tables and a stool. The way it works is you pick out a top and buy the legs you want with it. I liked the $4 legs and the tops were inexpensive as well. The smaller one was $4 and the larger was $20. The smaller table was only a total of $20 and the larger $36. I went with a white top and black legs to match my cutting table but you could get white, silver, or red legs. I couldnt resist the black stool which I didnt have to have but knew I would use it with my cutting table. All in all I spent $150 because I had to go back and get another bookcase but I love my room!! My family knows when I come home I am going straight to my room. LOL!! They come down and visit though. My husband complains that my tv is too small. I got it at the Sidwell Friends annual yard sale a couple of years ago for $10. It is only 7″ I think. Now if I only finish the cover I started two weeks ago for my chair. I had to stop cause I wanted to sew stuff for me!!LOL that is for me to wear!!!

FRONT

I finished the Tracey Reese V1092. Here is the review:

Pattern Description: Semi-fitted, lined skirt, 1″ below waistline with waistband and front band with buckles, front and back seam details, back inset and invisible zipper closing.

Pattern Sizing: 14-16-18-20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Once I figured out my layout it was pretty easy. The instructions were good.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the creative design with the stripes. The back inset was also a nice detail.
.

Fabric Used: Black Linen with a greyish white stripe bought at G Street

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: My changes were made mostly because of fabric shortages. I eliminated the waistband and used bias binding tape.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Probably not too distinctive. Maybe if I wanted to make the suit but I dont like the jacket enough

Conclusion: Love it and cant believe how easy it was to make.

Back
FRONT

I also completed V8413

V8413 Back

Pattern Description: Close-fitting dress have bodice, sleeve and collar variation, straight skirt with front pleats, back darts, zipper and vent. A, B: cowl neckline. B: three-quarter length roll-up sleeves and carriers with purchased belt. C, D, E, F: princess seams. C, D: one piece collar. E, F: gathered collar, lapping ends in front. F: three-quarter sleeve length with casing and elastic. All view lengths are mid-knee.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I saw this on another bloggers site (cant remember who though) i thought it was different look using knit.
.

Fabric Used: ITY knit I think I bought in New York last year.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will try a long sleeve version for the winter and maybe one of the other neckline variations.

Conclusion: Love it and cant believe how easy it was to make.

V8413 Front
6 thoughts on “UPDATE

  1. Erica B. says:

    Love your sewing space! It’s so organized and pristine! And I’m hating on your floor! I WILL have hard floors in my next sewing studio! Noting like the surprise of a needle or pin hidden in the carpet! Everything you made looks great! I especially love your Tracy Reese skirt! I made mine in wool and I I can’t wait until Fall so I can wear it again.

    1. DeDe says:

      Thanks Erica. I havent been on the blog in a while, been too busy at work. I love your version of the skirt as well. I should have underlined mine though the linen really stretched after one wear!!! As for the floors, I absolutely love them. They keep everything at least looking pretty neat and clean. LOL!! They are bamboo.

I love to hear Feedback!!

