BUTTERICK 5497

Well I paused on the jacket, actually I havent worked on it since my last post. I’m planning on working on it some more tonight and hopefully be able to wear it Friday with jeans. In the meanwhile I am in desperate need of long sleeve shirts, so I made B5497. I like the look of the style on the envelope but really dont think the (batwing) dolman sleeves help my figure, but maybe it is still just a little too long. I love this print I picked up at Joann’s over the weekend. I originally bought the smaller animal print and am making a dress out of it with a Burda pattern but couldnt resist when I saw the larger print for 60% off. Anyhow Here is my Review:

Butterick 5497


Pattern Description: From Butterick… Tops A, B, C, loose-fitting at bust, have short or long dolman sleeves, gathered upper section, shoulder casings with elastic and stitched hems. A, B: lapped upper back sections have neck binding. C: upper front and back cut on crossgrain, shading may occur.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, but I changed it up a little bit.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the crossover in the top, but wasnt sure about the sleeves. The instructions have you basically finish the lapped portion of the front by folding the two fronts and encasing the top and bottom in a seam. The pattern runs really big and it does say loose-fitting at bust but WOW! This was really big and to make matters worst I lowered the bust seam by an inch and ended up taking that off plus more.

Fabric Used: ITY Knit from Joanns

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:Because this ended up being so big I took the overlap out and hand sewed the lap closed because I had a good portion of my bra revealed. I also made an overlapped top but with the long sleeves of the long sleeve version. I also gathered the bottom just a little under the bust for figure flattery. I ended up creating a center back seam to take out excess fabric and create shaping.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I may try the short sleeve version for summer and size it down two sizes.

Conclusion: I love the print and design just wish I had made the top two sizes smaller.

5 thoughts on “BUTTERICK 5497

  1. Bernice says:

    Love your top! The print is gorgeous! I also like the v-neck version with the long sleeves. Quick question for you. Did you use your cover stitch machine to hem the top?
    P.S. Love the new look of your blog.

I love to hear Feedback!!

