Jacket # 1 Butterick 4610

Butterick 4610
B4610

Well I am just about finished and thought I would go ahead and review. All I have left is to add the buttonhole to the jacket. I also decided to add buttons to the back of the sleeves even though I dont have a sleeve vent and got to go and find a match. I think it will complete the look. I also have to get a picture with me wearing it, along with other pictures. Until I can get a photographer (hubby or kids) in my household, photos courtesy of my Iphone. Sorry.

Pattern Description: Lined, fitted jacket has princess seams, patch pockets and single button closing.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Didn’t use them. I used the Palmer Pletsch DVD on Sewing Jackets for Real People. Excellent!!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I was looking for a basic jacket and this one was reviewed well on Patternreview.

Fabric Used: Grey/Black no wale corduroy with herringbone design I think I got this at Joann’s last year.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added black piping around the pockets.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Definitely. Everything lined up pretty good.

Conclusion: I enjoyed making it and included a back stay and Kenneth King’s Cool Couture technique for a shoulder stay which I will include in all jackets henceforth. It gives the look of a very tailored shoulder. IMHO I also bagged the lining which I need more practice with, cause the hem wasnt working. LOL.

5 thoughts on “Jacket # 1 Butterick 4610

I love to hear Feedback!!

