RED WHITE and BLACK B5559, S2603 and more pictures of Jacket 1

a>I’m still here. I have noticed that lately I have been buying the same colors. RED WHITE and BLACK. I started B5559 last week and only took me two evenings to finish. I would have finished it sooner except I had to do some seam ripping. The first tuck I did on the wrong side instead of right side of the fabric. I am glad I read the reveiws on Patternreview because I would have never taken the time to thread trace all of those tucks. You really need the marks on the outside in order to complete with accuracy.

</
It is a candy apple red double knit. I originally bought it to go along with a remnant that I had to have see below.

B5559
Pattern Description: Close-fitting, above mid-knee, pullover dresses A, B have front and back darts and outside stitched tucks. A: above elbow length sleeves. B: sleeveless.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? For the most part they were. I got a little turned around with the tucks at the waist line. You actually sew the top and bottom together but the tuck is formed above the seam so it is hidden underneath. I was making the tuck too wide and catching the seam below so I had to take it all out and redo it.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loved the starburst tucks and was hoping it would be flattering.

Fabric Used: Red Double Knit. I think I got it from Joanns.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I lengthened it about 2 inches on the bottom and would have done more but thats all the fabric I had room for. I also lengthened the sleeves an inch and the front pattern piece an inch. I wasnt sure about doing a full bust adjustment and decided to lengthen just a little and hoped for the best!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Maybe but I doubt it.

Conclusion: Easy and Comfortable.

I came across this red, black, and white double knit fabric at G street for $2.99/yard a couple of months ago. It was only a yard which is why I bought the red double knit above but I couldnt decide what to do with it so I waited. McCalls came out with what I hope is the perfect pattern for this. It is Mc6278 My plan is to do it with a black double knit.

I have the front and back pieces cut but have to cut the coordinating black fabric, but somehow I’m not the impressed with it anymore. So I wait.

I also finally did the S2603 Cardi and top. It has been reviewed 88 times on Patternreview so I’ll make mine quick.

SIMPLICITY 2603
a ;</

S2603

Pattern Description: Misses Knit Top and Cardi-Wrap

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes Now I know why so many have made it.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Loved the front folds and angle. I made the shorter version though. I didnt want to tie it.

Fabric Used: Dark Chocolate Knit I had in my stash

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I shortened it about 4 inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I bought two more knits.

Conclusion: Easy, Comfortable and cozy.

Lastly, Pictures of the Jacket blogged about here on Me.

</a

I am holding the jacket closed in the picture because I didnt make a large enough buttonhole. The machine determines the size but I thought it looked too big. LOL! I was in a hurry and grabbed my husband to take the pictures before I left. I have since corrected the buttonhole and am very happy with the jacket.

7 thoughts on “RED WHITE and BLACK B5559, S2603 and more pictures of Jacket 1

    1. DeDe says:

      Thanks. I have been very busy. I even did alot of work on pants but had to give that a break!! LOL. and believe it or not I started grad school too. I’m probably gonna stick with knits for a little bit to avoid all of that fitting with my limited time available.

    1. DeDe says:

      Thanks. I don’t actually wear alot of read so it’s definitely different for me. I have been thinking about that Pucci dress you showed me.

  1. Bernice says:

    OMG! This dress beautiful!!! Your tucks came out so great. I’m amazed at how quickly this dress came together considering all the tucks and seam rippings. Great job!!!

  2. Carolyn says:

    The dress is AMAZING! I bought the pattern thinking I would use my TNT dress pattern to make it work but it seems that you’ve done it right out of the envelope…so that’s really encouraging to me. Can I ask you a question? What type of dressform are you using? And what size did you buy? Would you mind leaving me a message at cnorman_98 at yahoo dot com. Thanks!

I love to hear Feedback!!

