VOGUE 8685 & McCALLS 6164

A couple of weeks ago I ordered this Anna Sui Mesh from FabricMartFabrics.com. I have come to love the site almost as much as Carolyn of Diary of a Sewing Finatic. LOL!! I originally bought this thinking about a Cardigan and shell but have lately been thinking (dreaming) of Spring. I have wanted to do the V8685 pattern since it came out. I wasnt sure about underlining and mesh but couldnt get the idea out of my head so I just went with it. Here it is:

V8685

Pattern Description:Close-fitting, mid-knee or below mid-calf length dresses A, B, C, D, E, F have bodice with pleats and darts, midriff, yoke, topstitched trim and back zipper. A, B, D, E: cap raglan sleeves. C, F: long raglan sleeves. A, B, C: tapered, back slit and stitched hem. D, E, F: flared with narrow hem.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? For the most post yes. The under sleeve binding was a little different. It doesnt tell you to tack the sleeve down after you have completed the binding part but it looks unfinished to me without it.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the raglan sleeve and the close fitted version although I wasnt sure how it would look on me.

Fabric Used: As I noted earlier it is a Anna Sui Mesh from fabricmart. I lined it with a lightweight jersey I found at Joann’s on sale a week ago.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I had to adjust the neckline binding cause it stretched and was loose. Also, since I underlined it when putting the sleeves together I sewed them right sides together and pressed the to make a neat finish instead of having to hem the two layers. I also waited and put the sleeves in last and did the topstitching once I knew I didnt have to make any fit adjustments. Finally, I also eliminated the zipper wasnt sure if I wanted to try to get that in with this fabric choice, so i tried it on while putting it together and it was fine.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I am going to make the slim fitting version too. I would recommend this one as well.

Conclusion: It was a pretty easy pattern. I actually serged most of it!

McCalls 6164

Pattern Description:Pullover tops A, B, C, D, E, F have neckline and sleeve variations, stitched hems; top A has two-piece sleeves with bands and elastic forming ruched effect; tops A, B have above elbow sleeves; tops A, B, C have gathered sleeve caps; tops C, D have pleated and gathered sleeve caps; top D has crushed, longer than full-length sleeves; tops A, B, C, D have optional sleeve heads; tops C, E have below elbow sleeves; top E has flanges and purchased sew-on jewels; top F has ruffles and long sleeves. I did version A

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

Fabric Used: Some Cotton Knit that I’ve had for years.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loved the scoop neckline and ruched sleeve.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added binding to the neckline to give it a more RTW look although I didnt stitch in the ditch well.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, and Yes.

Conclusion: It was a pretty easy pattern.

I actually bougth a Coverstitch machine back in November for my b-day. Now is the time for me to break it in. After doing this top I am going to buy a binder. Any recommendations on size and type appreciated?

My new baby:

I was intimidated by this machine for a little while but enjoying it. I know with all of the knits I like to sew it will get used. I am happy with it.

I have quite a few dresses I want to sew and have 4 others already cut so I’ll be busy!!!

5 thoughts on “VOGUE 8685 & McCALLS 6164

  1. Bernice says:

    I love your dress. It turned out great! The fabric is so beautiful! Your purple top is very pretty too. I’m glad you’re enjoying your new baby!

I love to hear Feedback!!

