B5520 & NL6912

>

I actually hadn’t planned on making this dress but an unpreventable event made it necessary. A close colleague of mine passed away last weekend. It is an extremely sad occasion. She will be sorely missed both professionally and personally. Anyhow, I needed something to wear to the funeral and decided this LBD would fit the bill.

Full View
Closeup Front
>B5520

Pattern Description: Close-fitting, tapered, above mid-knee length, lined dresses A, B, C have two-piece raglan sleeves, back zipper and back slit. A, B: contrast cap sleeves. B, C: peplum. C: above wrist length sleeves.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes but I was suprised there were no instructions on using the lace inset for the sleeve considering I got the idea from the picture on the pattern.
Windowpane lace sleeve insets

Fabric Used: Spring Suiting bought last year from Hancock

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the lined peplum.
Peplum</a

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did not line the sleeves since I used lace but finished the bottoms of each sleeve with a 1/2 inch band of self fabric and did a bias bound neckline. Alterations: lowered the waistline 1.5 inches but should have done 1 inch. I also lengthen the skirt by 2.5 inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Maybe the version without the peplum and Yes.

Conclusion: It went together fairly quick. Originally I had the perfect belt for this pattern but it didnt work because the waistline was a little off.

NL6912

</a

Pattern Description: New Look Design your look dress. I made my version with 3/4 length sleeves and cowl.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

Fabric Used: ITY Jersey for top portion and black double knit for bottom.

What did you like or dislike? It reminded me of a dress that Toy told me about a while back. I loved the cowl neck and color block options.

Pattern Alterations or Design changes you made: None although I used knit although it was designed for wovens. I wish I had lengthened the top it would look more like the inspiration.

Would you sew it again? Recommend to others? I would like to make one of the other versions and I would recommend it.

Conclusion: Great dress!

9 thoughts on “B5520 & NL6912

  1. gwen says:

    I am sorry you lost a friend. So sad. You did a great job, pushing on that dress on short notice! I love your sheer sleeves. The other dress is very pretty, too. Nice sewing!

    1. DeDe says:

      Thanks Gwen. It worked out cause I was off on Monday and that’s all I did. Sewing gave me my much needed R&R.

  2. Andrea says:

    Sorry to hear about your co-worker. You did a lovely job with both dresses. I love you version of that Butterick dress. The sleeves give it such a nice look.

  3. Bernice says:

    I am very sorry to hear about the lost of your friend/colleague.
    I love both dresses. The lace on the sleeves is really beautiful. Very nice touch. I love the combination of fabrics for the NL dress. I never really noticed this pattern before. It is going on my wish list! Great job!!!

  4. Karin says:

    I am sorry to hear that you lost your friend. Your little black dress is lovely. Simple and understated, with a nice detail of the lacy/meshy bit on top of the sleeves. Very flattering! Thanks for stopping by my blog:-)

I love to hear Feedback!!

