V1190

My friend had her 40th B-day celebration this weekend and everyone was asked to wear chocolate and cream. I tell you I had the hardest time trying to decide what to wear. In the end I realized I had this pattern already cut last summer and the colors are chocolate, cream, and raspberry.

V1190

Pattern Description: Close-fitting, A-line, above mid-knee length dress has front ruffles, pleats, exposed darts, back straps, princess seams, back zipper and contrast waistband with bow.

Pattern Sizing:14-16-18-20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?Pretty much except there wasnt an adjustment jersey even though it was one of the suggested fabrics.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I liked the oversized ruffles although I wasnt sure if they’d work on my figure.

Fabric Used:ITY Jersey bought from G Street last year

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I altered the back. I opened the strap and placed another pattern (cant remember which one) on top to give it the curve under the arm. I also eliminated the bow. I should have shortened the bottom of the upper back piece and probably made this a little smaller since it was jersey. I normally put elastic in any wrap top especially something made with jersey but this dress has a self facing and I wasnt sure if it would work well with the ruffles sewn on top because of time I didnt even try. I moved the wrap farther over trying to eliminate any gaposis. One last thing the ruffles are pretty heavy as they are folded rectangles of fabric and oversized. I did use a really lightweight knit.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I may sew again but without the ruffles which are very distinctive.

Conclusion: I like the dress but dont love it. I wore this to a friend’s 40th B-day and it was different and comfortable all night. That is a plus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 thoughts on “V1190

  1. toy says:

    I know you were concern about the ruffle but you know what you can’t really distinquish the ruffles from far because of the type of print your used for the dress, so it look perfectly find.

I love to hear Feedback!!

