STRIPES VOGUE 1234

 

 

 

I started this project about a week ago.  I came across this grey and black t-shirt fabric on sale @ Hancocks.  I had been thinking about loungewear and wanted to make something comfortable to wear around the house.  kind of something like this from Victoria’s Secret.  I was looking through patterns and came up with the idea of using this fabric and playing with the stripes.  It did not come out quite like I wanted

I went back to the store to buy an additional yard to finish cutting this out because most of the stripes were cut on the bias.

 

My Review:

 

V1234

Pattern Description:  Loose-fitting, pullover dresses A, B have hem facing. A: Center front cut on crosswise grain. No provisions made for above waistline adjustment.

Pattern Sizing: A-J (I did F)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes
 
Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions have you do this labeling with stickers to kind of make it easier to put together.  I did not do this and everything worked out pretty good except one of the rectangle insets but it is a very forgiving dress.  It has lot of ease.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked how different it is.  I wanted to make this in a solid like on the pattern envelope but needed to make a muslin (this is it) to determine any needed alterations.

Fabric Used: Thin T-shirt knit from Hancocks

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Very few.  I lowered the neckline about 3 inches to complement my physique.  I also narrowed the neckbinding because I only wanted the black stripe to show.  I sewed the sleeve in with a 1/4 inch seam to lengthen it as much as I could.  I would warn anyone making it that it is very long.  I am 5’8" and you can see how long it is on me in the picture.  It has a hem band which I did not use but that would have only shortened it 5/8 of an inch.  I did not do a FBA which is a normal alteration for me.  I would also lengthen the sleeve but that’s just my preference.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I may do it again in a solid but something with a little more elasticity and weight.

Conclusion: Nice dress, if you want something kind of puzzle like and unique. 

 

18 thoughts on “STRIPES VOGUE 1234

  1. Serenity says:

    I am in awe of you and that dress. I have seen that pattern bit was like there is no way in hell that would look good on anyone other than a stick figure. Now I want it! Thank for the inspiration!

  2. Marlene says:

    I just finished this dress. I’m petite 5’2″ and sewed a size 34 (B). It is extremely long for us shorties. I love the dress but I think Vogue should not have put so many sizes on one pattern. I had to cut off over 1/3 yard off the bottom to get it to mid calf. You lose a lot of design like the vent when you do that. I would try to redraft the bottom for me if I do it again. Also, my cap sleeve underarm seam was weird, the front side was way shorter than the back underarm seam. Verified and the paper pattern was that way. There was no instructions, so I stretched to fit thinking it was a way of getting the sleeve to hug the arm. It worked, but some notation should be made or else this is a pattern drafting error. But it is a beautiful and very different dress.

I love to hear Feedback!!

