BUTTERICK 4789

 

 

Pattern Description:  Pullover top A and dress B have twisted front detail, back darts, extended shoulders, V-neckline front and back. B: 2" below mid-knee length

Pattern Sizing: 16-18-20-22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes, this is a fairly quick and easy dress.  There are only two pattern pieces!!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?</b>It creates a flatterying silhouette

Fabric Used:  ITY Jersey from G Street.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:</b> I lengthened the bodice 1.5 inches and made a size 20 instead of my normal 18 but I should have made the 18 because it was too big and I ended up taking it in alot but had I made my size I wouldnt have had to make but one alteration.  The back pattern piece was way too long.  I took out about 4 inches from the back shoulder seem only.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?</b>I am going to sew the top.

Conclusion: This dress creates a flattering silhouette

 

012711 001

9 thoughts on “BUTTERICK 4789

  1. Renee says:

    This looks awesome on you. Love the fabric. I have this patten too. I was just going to make the top. But after seeing your dress, I may consider the dress too. Great Job!!

  2. Robin says:

    Beautiful! It really is a flattering dress! I really am just going to have to get over my stupid fear of knits so I can start making gorgeous dresses like you.

  3. Elisse says:

    Help! I am working on the top version of Butterick 4789. For some reason the twist part is giving me trouble. I don’t know if I sewed a part of the bottom too high or what. I have scoured the internet for a photo play by play or video showing how to do from step 7 to step 9. Maybe theres a disconnect to what section gets pulled into the hole or how much. If you can give me some incite it would be greatly appreciate. I am a beginner but a fast learner.

I love to hear Feedback!!

