BUTTERICK 5682 & SIMPLICITY 2337 & BUTTERICK 5283

 

Simplicity 2337

 

091111 027091111 035091111 024

I saw this dress earlier this year and knew when I this pattern came out it would work for this as a knock-off.

Here is my Review:

Pattern Description: Project Runway Collection misses’ dress pattern with front and sleeve variations.

Pattern Sizing: I made the 20 without a FBA

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes except I changed the sleeves a little

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The sleeves.

Fabric Used: Crepe

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  Since I was trying to copy this Ann Taylor Dress, I realized that if I turned the sleeves inside out the folds/tucks were going upward instead of downward like the pattern.  I also took out the back darts since I’d not done a FBA and needed some extra room.  I also lined it.  The sleeves were a little big so I had to adjust them too because they pooched out a bit.  I also lengthened it about 2 inches.  It is still unlined in the picture but I like the length.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would like to sew the other versions.

Conclusion: Great Dress!!

 

091111 022091111 030091111 017

B5682 & B5283

Pattern Description:Close-fitting, pullover tops have stitched hems. A, B: self-faced twisted upper fronts. C, D: self-faced twisted asymmetrical fronts.

Pattern Sizing: I think I made the 18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Love the Knot, but I did not like how the front is lined but the back is not.  The sleeves are cut on and the front half of the sleeve is lined but the back half is just folded.

Fabric Used: ITY Jersey Remnant from G Street

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I had to use other fabric for the lining piece since I used a remnant.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would like to sew the other versions.  Yes I would recommend.

Conclusion: Cute Top!!

 

Butterick 5283

Pattern Description: At waist, fitted jeans (A,B,C,D) and semi fitted trouser (E), have contoured waistband and fly zipper. A: Slim leg, ankle length. B: Straight leg. C: Boot cut. D: Flared leg. E: Straight leg, hook and eye closure.

Pattern Sizing:I started with the 20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked all of the pant leg options.

Fabric Used: Stretch Denim from Hancocks.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made? They run pretty big.  I had to take about 2 inches off of each outside pant leg, an inch off of the inside pant leg.  I also lengthened the crotch but adjusted the backside too much.  My back darts had to be increased to take out an excess of 6 inches.  The pants would have been pretty quick to make except I had a hard time with dimples under the darts.  I redid them at least 4 times.  I also lined the waistband with lining instead of another piece of denim to lessen bulk in the waist area.   The pockets turned out great.  I lengthened them by 3 inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I will definitely sew them again in some menswear fabric, but will try the 16 instead so I can avoid all of the changes.  Highly recommend

Conclusion: Love the fit and pocket placement.

4 thoughts on “BUTTERICK 5682 & SIMPLICITY 2337 & BUTTERICK 5283

I love to hear Feedback!!

