FALL SEWING PLANS & WHAT I’M WORKING ON (PIC HEAVY)

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged.  I’ve been so busy that I decided to use any spare time for sewing.  I came to the conclusion that since I am overwhelmed with ideas of what to sew.  I should just plan what to make so I can stay focused. Make Sense?  Basically, I have bought so much fabric and patterns that I easily have way too many projects I’m trying to focus on and it stops me from making progress.  First I thought, what am I likely to wear during the fall and winter months and what are my needs.  Typically I only wear pants once the seasons change as I stay cold, so I decided to focus on tops I could wear with cardigans and/or jackets for meetings.  Next, I searched online for inspiration and came up with quite a few tops that I knew could easily be replicated with patterns.  Initially, I thought my plan was too ambitious because of the volume, but now I think I can do it. Most of it anyway. I have a goal.  I want to make the B5682  jean trouser version again but in a suiting fabric once I tweak the fit.  My hope is that this can become a TNT pant pattern for me.  The last thing I did was search (organized LOL!!) my stash and found fabrics for tops and bottoms.  Below is a list of what I’d like to make with corresponding pattern Nos:

animal print tie blouseArmani Pleated Front cap sleeve topasymetrical twist topAATaylor lace trip topB5283Michael Kors Slash silk blouseside button topSimplicity 2601 Halogen knit bow top

Here are the patterns matched with fabric choices:

091811 003092011 002092011 003092011 004092011 005092011 006092011 008092011 017092011 020091811 006092011 016

Before I could start I had to get in a few more dresses.  I have to tweak the fit for all of these but thought I’d share what I’ve been up to because time is flying.  I can’t believe we are in Fall already!!

First, there is Simplicity 2443, I used the bottom of another pattern (can’t remember which one) for a straight maxi dress.  I like the T back.

09092611 00309092611 004

092611 007092611 008092611 009It’s a wearable muslim.  I need to remove fabric from the sides above the band.  It’s too long.  I’m not really satisfied with the ribbing I used for the T-neck because it’s double faced and adds alot of bulk, which I don’t need.  I love the chevron stripe which meant I used alot more fabric then would have been necessary.  I actually cut the last piece in the wrong direction and had to go back to Hancock’s find the fabric so that I could cut the piece in the right direction.  It was okay since it was on sale for $3 a yard.

Next up,  I wanted to sew this dress as soon as I saw the pattern but later I realized I had the perfect fabric for it.  This is B5672.

092611 003

Again not finished yet.  I have to play with the pleats.  They are pinned in this picture.  I cut the dress too big.  I have a habit of doing this trying to avoid an FBA although it should not be necessary with a knit I am afraid it will pull across my bust which is unsightly.  I also did not want to ruin my gorgeous fabric.  Anyhow,  I am going to sew the tucks closed some more and hem.  I did not line this and will be doing some sort of facing or neck binding, haven’t decided which yet.

Next up, this dress from WhiteHouse BlackMarket.  I couldn’t resist when I saw the ad and knew I had some Cinnamon double knit that I’d bought last year from FabricMart Fabrics.  I did it for fun mostly, but it’s a very comfortable dress. I used a combination of M6435, V8593, and S2147. I pinned the pleats closed on V8593 and used this as a base for the patten since the length was perfect for me. Since I basted the pleats in the neckline closed I released those into a diagonal dart on the sides. I used M6435 and S2147 to determine where the line would fall for the white part of the pattern. I unfortunately cut the shoulders too wide and now have to take off the sleeves to adjust the shoulder line and then add the sleeves back on and adjust the length. I also think I need to open the neckline somewhat to give it the same shape. I can then bind the neckline and hem.

092611 006

Next is the First of my Fall Sewing Plan. I’m going to call it FSP #1. It is Jalie 2921 Neck Tie blouse. I love the color and it was really easy. I like how the tie is finished all the way around. This cranberry Fuschia has become one of my favorite colors!! I originally was going to use the Butterick listed above but liked this much better for the fabric.  I will review once I finish, hopefully tonight. I gotta change the thread in my coverstitch.

092611 002

10 thoughts on “FALL SEWING PLANS & WHAT I’M WORKING ON (PIC HEAVY)

  1. Carolyn says:

    I can’t believe you’ve knocked off the White Market/Black House dress already! That one is on my list too! I have the black & brown ponte knit just need some vanilla. You did a great job using the different patterns to come up with this look whereas I was just going to cut up my TNT one again!

  2. PendleStitches says:

    I swear I would never have looked at the B5672 dress until I saw your version. In fact, sack that, I want your version. That fabric is to die for!!!!!!! And I love the WHBM knockoff….more than the original. Kudos!

  3. quinn says:

    dd i saw that b5672 but wasnt sure about it but it looks really good on you. I think i will give it a try thanks love the fabric

  4. narcissaqtpie says:

    Your fabric & pattern combos are perfect. Makes me wanna sew NOW!! I have that WHBM pattern in my inspiration files, I was going to use a burda pattern as a base, you made the HECK out of yours, I LOVE it on you!

  5. Nicola B. Kriegleder says:

    herzlichen Glückwunsch !! Ich wünschte ,ich hätte auch schon so viele schöne Ideen ! ich kann andere immer sehr gut beraten ,aber für mich verwerfe ich ständig die Modelle wieder und dann fange ich wieder von Vorne an. Also, ich versuche es jetzt mal genau so wie du es machst ,alles schön hinlegen und direkt den Schnitt dazu !! Toll, ich hoffe es klappt so besser !! Thank you

  6. Lou says:

    I decided yesterday that I wanted to tackle Butterick 5672 and like you have determined that I’ll need an FBA to reduce the pulling-for-all-it’s-worth look across the bust but would like to avoid it. (I’m searching for solutions at the moment)

I love to hear Feedback!!

