Simplicity 1945 and What I’m Up To??

 

Originally, last week after the light jacket I wanted another quick and easy project to complete.  They are addictive!! I started working on McCalls 5819 but I ran into a few problems and ultimately put it aside and decided this would be my quick and easy project.  It did not disappoint me.  I love this top!

Here is my Review:

101411 003

Simplicity 1945

Pattern Description: Misses’ & plus size pants, skirt and knit tops and cardigan sweater. Khaliah Ali Collection.  I made the top with the draped front.

Pattern Sizing: AA (10-12-14-16-18)  I made the 18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I thought the line drawing looked as if the neckline was lower but when I see the model with this top on mine looks just like it.

Were the instructions easy to follow?  Super Easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I bought this pattern for the other top (the wrapped one) but liked this one as well.

Fabric Used: Jersey from G Streets $2.97 table

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Originally I lengthened the pattern but didnt need it and actually cut it off.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes I will sew again and definitely would recommend.

Conclusion:  I wanted a quick and easy project.  This took about an hour and a half from cut to finish.  I serged all seams.

101411 004

Me in Top before Make-up!!

101411 011101411 013

 

Now, my original quick and easy project!  I have had this OOP McCalls 5819 for a while and always wanted to do something in velour.  This fabric was purchased over a year ago at Fabric Mart.  It is a deep dark Espresso brown and super soft with a little stretch.  First, I gotta say if constructed the way the pattern instructs it would be a quick and easy project.  I did not realize the gathered neckline was done with exposed raw edges, so I had to figure out how to make it cleaner with my pattern pieces that I’d already cut.  Basically I sewed the neckline in 1/4 inch seams, right side (trim) to wrong side (neckline), then turned it to the outside (front) and topstitched with my coverstitch.  I left an opening for the drawstring which I figured I would purchase instead of making to eliminate bulk.  After going to two fabric stores which did not even have brown cording I just made it according to the pattern instructions.

101411 006

 

101411 002

Next the pockets were too high! I was kicking myself for not checking the placement. Once I tried the top on it was not as loose as I wanted.  I assumed it being active wear and all, it would have a lot of ease.  So even though the pattern sized up to a 16, I wasn’t worried.  That won’t happen again.  LOL!!  Lesson Learned on all counts.  Anyway, while I was in Joann’s trying to buy the cording I picked up Easy projects to Sew and noticed an article on Godets.  It looked easy enough and I thought well I’ll make it a design element.

101411 008

Then I cut the Godet in the wrong direction, but I kinda like it. !!LOL!!

What do you think?

 

101411 007

Once I added the Godets the pocket placement didn’t work.  My husband suggested I just leave them off which was hard to do because this is one of the things I liked about the top.  I also worked really hard on them to not get the home made look.  In the end hubby was right!! I left them off.

101411 005

Then the sleeves are suppose to be gathered at the top.  I did not like the look on me.  Kinda quarter back ish.  So I remove some of the ease and set-in the sleeve.  I still have to take off the other and do the same.

 

101411 009

Last night I cut out and serged the pant together, that was quick and easy!  Now I have to fix the one sleeve on the top and hem both the top and pants.  Hopefully I can review tomorrow.

 

Bra Making

I have always wanted to learn how to make bras.  I even bought an Elan pattern and ordered the supplies from SewSassy to complete a couple of bras, but once I got everything I was intimidated.Sad smile  I traced off what I thought would be my size but put everything away until I could do later research.  Well the Maryland ASG is having a class with Ann of Needle Nook fabrics.  I had read two previous reviews about this class one favorable from Sew Tawdry  and one unfavorable from KnitMachineQueen.  I love sewing bloggers because both of these reviews helped me to make my decision.  Originally I was put on a waiting list and didn’t think I’d be able to take the class at any rate, but there was a cancellation and I got the call.  I didn’t have any plans for this weekend and I haven’t taken a class all year so I decided I’m in.  The two reviewers told me completely what to expect and what to watch out for.  I appreciate that.  My class is tomorrow but last night was the fitting and workshop.  Anne measures you and has you try on a sample bra to get the idea of your fit, then adjusts her own pattern to give you a custom fit bra.  So tomorrow I’ll get the original pattern and a traced custom fit one for me.  I then get the supplies to make three bras (my guess is so you can tweak and make two more to play around with the fit) and one will be completed in your class and tweaked.  The bra that I tried on definitely felt comfortable but also a little big, at the same time after having heard the first part of the workshop you begin to see that what you’ve been wearing is ALL wrong.  So far I have learned a lot which in the end is all I’m looking for.  I suspect tomorrow I’ll have at the very least a good starting point on a pattern.  She also is very knowledgeable on everything bra related so I should be able to use this information in foundational support for future garments.  I’ll follow-up with a review after tomorrow’s class.  So far so Good!!

2 thoughts on “Simplicity 1945 and What I’m Up To??

  1. Audrey says:

    Oooh you found that pretty swirl print fabric on the $2.97 table? I am jealous. It made a really cute top. I like the velour top too. It looks so soft, and comfy. Clever save with the gussets. They look just like a designer style detail. So how did the 2nd day of bra class go?

I love to hear Feedback!!

