PANTS Butterick 5682 x 5

 

I have been working on this pants pattern off and on for at least two months.  I have tweaked and adjusted over and over.  I am working/hoping/praying for a TNT pants pattern!!! LOL!!  Here are the results:

This is the first wearable pair.  They are lined but something funky is going on with the pant legs.  I somehow cut them off grain.  I have just taken the seams out from the inside and outer leg to try and fix.  I am also correcting the awful hem.

 

112811 029

Second pair but not really wearable.  With this pair I took in a tuck down the back pant leg just under the thigh hoping to get a better fit in the back but I’d forgotten the inch (2 inches total) I had taken from the sides.  I loved the fabric but couldn’t do anything about it.  It’s more noticeable in the back view.

Next pair tuck was released but there’s still something funky with that pant leg.  This is a wool fabric I got from Gus Woolen’s in Baltimore.  I learned with these to use the twill tape in my waist band to stop the stretching.  They stretched out so much I had to hold them up.  LOL!!!

 

Another wool pair with a better fit.  These held up really well, this picture is after a long day at work.

122911 009

This is my most recent pair.  I am happier with this pair than all of the others.  BTW, they aren’t hemmed yet in the pictures above.

Here’s my Review:

Pattern Description: At waist, fitted jeans (A,B,C,D) and semi fitted trouser (E), have contoured waistband and fly zipper. A: Slim leg, ankle length. B: Straight leg. C: Boot cut. D: Flared leg. E: Straight leg, hook and eye closure.

Pattern Sizing:16-22 I think I ended up with between 16 and 18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I assumed because it was a jeans pattern the trousers would be a closer fit but they are not.

Fabric Used:  Some type of Polyester.  I love the drape and weight of it.  I got it on clearance at Joann’s.  I can’t remember for how much but I got about 7 more yards of it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Well I started with the size 20 big mistake cause I had to take a couple of inches off the side seams.  I did a large derriere adjustment lengthening my back crotch and sewed in a deeper curve scooping out the lower portion of it.  I also took an inch off of the front crotch because the front was too long in the crotch.  I lengthened the pants by 3 inches cause I need to be able to wear heels with these.  I also did the Sandra Betzina zipper method for the latest pair and will continue to use this method going forward.  It looks much more professional.  I put twill tape in the waistband to avoid stretching.  Oh and lengthened the pocket cause it wasn’t deep enough.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will definitely make these again.  I have already made 4 other pairs.

Conclusion: My 2011 goal a TNT!!!

4 thoughts on “PANTS Butterick 5682 x 5

  1. Cennetta says:

    DD- I think you’ve done a great job with working out the kinks. I have experienced the same problem with the drape of the pant leg. It appears to twist and the seams are not perpandicture to the floor. I later discovered that some of the problem was due to my sway back. Some of the problem may related to the draft of the pattern and cutting slightly off grain.

    Good job!

  2. Cennetta says:

    Oops misspelling –

    DD- I think you’ve done a great job with working out the kinks. I have experienced the same problem with the drape of the pant leg. It appears to twist and the seams are not perpendicular to the floor. I later discovered that some of the problem was due to my sway back. Some of the problem may related to the draft of the pattern and cutting slightly off grain.

    Good job!

  3. M. Inez says:

    I have to admire your persistance! I cut this pattern out about 2 weeks ago and got confused on the zipper insertion lol. I THINK I’ve finally figured out what I need to do. I’m determined not to start another project until I finish this one. I was hoping this would be a great go-to jeans pattern but I might have to keep looking. If I make this pattern again I’ll definitely need to add an inch or two to wear them with heels. But the ones I’m working on now can be worn with flats. And if they don’t turn out just right, the denim was only $2/yd from fabric mart.

    I really like the grey pair you’ve made. They look to be a good fit to me. Hope you work out the kinks and get the great fit you’re looking for. Keep at it!

I love to hear Feedback!!

