Simplicity 1776

I am still trying to catch up on things I’ve sewn but not posted. This dress was completed maybe 2 weeks ago. Here is my Review:

SIMPLICITY 1776

Pattern Description: Misses’/Miss petite lined A-line dress has square or jewel neckline, short or 3/4 sleeve options and pocket variations.

Pattern Sizing:12-20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes except I put the exposed Zipper in the front.

Were the instructions easy to follow?  Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I have RTW dress very similar that I love to wear. I liked the pockets with flaps.

Fabric Used:I used a lightweight double knit I bought a year ago at Hancocks. The pockets are a remnant of black double knit fabric that I had.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I lowered the scoop neckline down to the size 12 marking maybe another 1/2 inch. I sized up because I was using the double knit but I dont know what I was thinking I should have sized down to a 16. I had to take out about 3 inches from the back seam. I also didnt used facings but self binded the neck edge.

Simplicity has an online video tutorial on how to do the exposed Zipper for this pattern.  I actually didn’t use it and only noticed it last night.  I simply folded the center front piece and ironed the crease in the fold just to the bottom of the zipper.  I opened it and laid the zipper on top of the foldline centering the zipper teeth on it.  I pinned it in place and sewed it down on the very edge of the tape.  I then cut straight down the center of the fold not completely to the end though. I then folded back the seam allowance and sewed on top of the previous stitching reinforcing the zipper and moving the seam allowance out of the way.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  I highly recommend. I would love to sew this again maybe in a linen fabric.

Conclusion: It was a really quick project. I love the dress!!

14 thoughts on “Simplicity 1776

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Pattern review should be exploding soon with makes of this pattern- yours is so enviable! I love how you did this- you truly elevated a standard shape and style!

  2. 404momi says:

    It turned out this really nice – this pattern is on my sewing table now. I’ve never done an exposed zipper… I don’t think I purchased the correct one.

    Anyway – beautiful dress!

  3. Kourtney says:

    Just completed this in lace (with an invisible zipper, though). Actually disappointed with the way it turned out. I was going for a classy look but it looks cheap and plain. 😦 going to try to add a thin belt at the waist to add some interest and play around with some accessories. Looks great from the back, but like a plain boring square from the front! I like your version much better! Nice job!

I love to hear Feedback!!

