Homecoming Dress B5811

B5811

<b>Pattern Description: </b>Lined dress has seam detail, fitted bodice, semi-fitted skirt, back zipper and slit, and stitched hem. Pleated, single-layer (wrong side shows) peplum has waistband, very narrow hem, and hook & eye closure.

<b>Pattern Sizing:</b>This was for my dd I cut the 8

<b>Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?</b>Yes, except I shortened the peplum. This was the inspiration dress.

ModCloth Dress

<b>Were the instructions easy to follow?</b>Yes. There is alot of seaming but everything fit together well.  My problem was my dd picked a striped stretch lace, half my battle was cutting out all of those pieces so the lines would match.

<b>What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?</b>I did not like the order of the seaming. The pattern tells you to seam the CF to the lower side front and the Upper Front with the Upper Side front then seam the upper and lower front together. I think the dart must be included in this seam but there was more bulk in the seams this way at least for me. When I make this dress again (for me !) I’ll sew it the complete opposite and adjust in the princess seam rather than through the bust dart. I love the fact that the peplum was separate so the dress can be worn without it. It also eliminated me having to do a waist stay within the dress.

Loved the dipped points in the center back!

<b>Fabric Used:</b> My dd fell in love with this flesh tone lace (Hancock’s) and then we had to find a match for the Peplum and underlay which we found at Joann’s. I wanted to use 3 different colors like the inspiration dress but she had her own vision. LOL!  In the end I had to go out and buy more lining, originally I thought I could use the underlay for the lace as a lining but I thought it would have a cleaner finish with the addition of another layer (lining) so her top has the lace, an underlay, and lining.  I actually cut the lace crosswise figuring since it was stretch it couldn’t hurt to much.  I thought it was easier matching my stripes across the body instead of up and down.

lace overlay

<b>Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:</b> I took in the seam around the armhole as it went over her shoulder more than she liked. I also adjusted the peplum and was concerned it would be too much fabric. I basically placed the front pattern peice on top of the back just to judge how much shorter it needed to be and I shaped it on the dress form. I had to take it in about 1/2 inch on each side in the waist and that was it. Oh yeah I shorted it about 5 inches.

<b>Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?</b> I am planning on sewing version C for me. I like the seaming details and think it could be a nice cress to color block.

<b>Conclusion: </b> She loved it!  I worked on this all the way up till she had to leave.  The hem isn’t quite right as I was rushing to complete.

FRONT
8 thoughts on “Homecoming Dress B5811

  1. Carolyn says:

    Your daughter looks stunning and you did a fabulous job on this! I remember those days…hemming the dress while my DD’s were applying make-up…hope she had a wonderful time!

  2. Audrey says:

    The dress is beautiful. I am amazed you were able to find the perfect color fabric to match the lace. Your daughter is a beautiful young lady with a great smile.

I love to hear Feedback!!

