Jalie 2908 First Try!

I know I need to do a couple of posts on the Thurlow Pants but I stopped sewing these and took the Jeans class with Jennifer Stern on Patternreview.  I saw it was being given again and have wanted to make jeans for quite a while now.  I really enjoyed the class and like being able to get help with the fit and anything else I had questions on.  Jennifer was great so much so I’m thinking about taking her T-Shirt class too.  My first pair of jeans!!!  I used fabric that I wasn’t that thrilled with and I’m happy with the end product.  On my next pair I’ll make some small adjustments.   Here is my Review:

Pattern Description:  Women’s flattering stretch jeans with slim fit through the hips and thigh and a flared leg, back and side front pockets, zip fly with button closure.

Pattern Sizing: I don’t have it with my right now but I think I did BB

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? I took the Jeans Class on Pattern-review so I didn’t use the instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  They were reviewed on PR over 100 times! I’ve been wanting to try jeans forever and have a couple of jeans patterns. I liked that they are fitted through the thigh.

Fabric Used: Non-stretch denim

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Oh boy. I didnt like the waistband width so adjusted it to 2.5″ as Jennifer suggested. (Absolutely great class!!) I also lengthened them about 3 inches (like them long). I had to play around with the scoop in the back crotch and Jennifer suggested I add to the side seam of the top to accommodate the scooping I did which worked out great. I also took out about 3 inches from the flare of the legs. I am still working on the fit and will probably lower the front quite a bit.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I have already sewn another pair and cut out a third pair. Still making adjustments. Definitely recommend.

Conclusion:  These are great!

More Pics:

DSC02125 DSC02118

Jalie 2908
Jalie 2908
Change Pocket
Change Pocket

DSC02129 DSC02128

Jalie 2908
Jalie 2908
10 thoughts on “Jalie 2908 First Try!

  1. Megan says:

    Your jeans look fantastic. I’m interested to hear that you changed the waistband, was this to make it wider? I can’t remember what the original width was on the pattern. I have made these jeans a few times and I think a wider waistband would be an improvement. Can’t think why I’ve never done it!! Great review 🙂

  2. EE says:

    Those look great on you! I have a similar body type and was worried about the pattern working for me, it’s good to know it will! I was wondering what adjustments you had to make to use non-stretch denim, as I think the pattern calls for pretty stretchy 4% lycra.

I love to hear Feedback!!

