New Cutting Table

Hi! I know I’ve been gone for forever! But I’m back. At least for a little while. I’ve been just super busy with work and preparations for college for my daughter. I have been sewing and will have posts coming up soon! My laptop crashed back in November!! So for my Christmas present to myself was an IPAD!! I LOVE THIS LITTLE THING!!! I did not get the mini cause I’m getting older and my eyesight isn’t what it used to be. LOL!!!

Anyhow I thought I’d do a quick post on my new cutting table in progress. My old table had the metal piece where the wheels connected to the table broke off and could only be welded back on. My husband being a welder could do it but it hasn’t happened yet. The table is still usable I just had to prop that leg up with 2 old textbooks, but it wasn’t as mobile as before. I loved the fact that it can be rolled around anywhere I needed it.

I’d been looking for cheaper options of replacing it. The one I had was good and reasonable at $79.99 thirteen years ago when I got it on a half price sale at Hancock’s. I’ve only had to change the wheels in all these years which cost of me less than $20 for all 6 so I wasn’t complaining.

I went to IKEA thinking of purchasing the Expedit and making a version of this (link below) which consists of 3 Expedit cabinets, wheels, top, and little bit of hardware. Besides being gorgeous it has tons of storage below.

20130521-075231.jpg

http://littlecornerhouse.blogspot.com/2011/11/ikea-hack-expedit-cutting-table.html

Once I got to IKEA I found this Varde base Kitchen cabinet (Sink) on clearance for $79.99. It was regularly $189.99 and has pre-drilled holes in the legs which work perfectly for my wheels. My son put it together for me and I have to go get a board from the hardware store for the top. I am going to remove my old table top and mount it to the new board. Well my husband is. 🙂 This is how it looks so far:

20130521-080414.jpg

20130521-080501.jpg

I have to get a final pic once its complete but it has two doors and shelving options inside. It’s not on the website but here is something similar:

20130521-081026.jpg

Varde Cabinet with drawers
Originally I wanted drawers but I like the idea of a shelf for my muslin or anything on a bolt. I’ll post a pic when it’s finished hopefully this weekend.

One thought on “New Cutting Table

I love to hear Feedback!!

