BURDA 6858

Well, I got it together and took a lot of pictures this weekend.  So more reviews are coming.  First up, Burda 6858.  It’s a really easy and quick sew.  I will be making the Long sleeve version in the fall.  LOL!!

Sewing 262

BURDA 6858

Here is my Review:

Pattern Description: Top of the line dresses: striking cut-outs, tulle inserts or gaps allowing the skin to peep through. All are form fitting, from stretchy material. The edges of variant A and B are trimmed with elastic lace

Pattern Sizing: 6-16; I made the 16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, although I didn’t really need them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the cut-outs but thought I’d use lace inserts instead.

Burda 6858 -- My obsession with black and white continues.
Burda 6858 — My obsession with black and white continues.

Fabric Used: Black & White Geometric Double knit purchased at the $2.97 table @ G street fabrics; the Black sleeve and insert fabric was a heavyweight Double knit purchased at Hancock Fabrics.

IMG_1653
Topstiching

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  FBA which required me to add darts and took an inch from the back for my sway back.  Inserted an Exposed gold Zipper and added top-stitching.  Also, hemmed with my cover-stitch.

IMG_1652
Exposed Zipper (still need to handsew the hook and eye

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes and I will be making the long sleeve version in the Fall.

IMG_1655
Cover Hem

Conclusion: LOVE THIS!!!

Sewing 261
More Pics of me in the dress!

Sewing 264 Sewing 263

4 thoughts on “BURDA 6858

I love to hear Feedback!!

